INTERNATIONAL FAKE JOURNAL MONTH: NO EXPLANATIONS…

Roz Stendahl invented INTERNATIONAL FAKE JOURNAL MONTH,  an activity which encourages participants to engage in visual journal work as someone other than oneself. Lots of information can be found here: INTERNATIONAL FAKE JOURNAL BLOG.

Last year I participated and my initial choices entailed too much work. You can see the my 2013 FAKE JOURNAL HERE.

The theme for 2014 is NO EXPLANATIONS.

I am keeping things very simple:

• The style is one I can do quickly, and is much more graphic than I would use in my regular journal.

• The tools are simply india inks and Pro-White.

• I am working in panels because this is an approach that is foreign to me for the most part. My journals are usually just collections of drawings, and can have a very random feeling in style and content.

• The images are stream of consciousness, generated by a character who is in her 20’s and sees the world through the format of a graphic novel. Anything can end up in her visual journal, including her friends, her work, her odd ball dreams, and  her old photos.

• I can accomplish a lot in 30 minutes with a brush and ink.

• I have no idea what will happen from panel to panel. The month will reveal what lies in store.

IFJM 2014 P1-2. © 2014 ELLEN WARD. India Ink on paper.

IFJM 2014 P1-2. © 2014 ELLEN WARD. India Ink on paper. Do not reproduce, reblog or pin to respect copyright.

IFJM 2014 P3-4. © 2014 ELLEN WARD. India Ink on paper. Do not reproduce, reblog or pin to respect copyright.

IFJM 2014 P3-4. © 2014 ELLEN WARD. India Ink on paper. Do not reproduce, reblog or pin to respect copyright.

IFJM 2014 P5-6. © 2014 ELLEN WARD. India Ink on paper. Do not reproduce, reblog or pin to respect copyright.

IFJM 2014 P5-6. © 2014 ELLEN WARD. India Ink on paper. Do not reproduce, reblog or pin to respect copyright.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “INTERNATIONAL FAKE JOURNAL MONTH: NO EXPLANATIONS…”

  1. Roz Stendahl Says:

    Ellen, I love the style you’ve settled on with the brush pen and the minimal use of color (in the top page). It’s fun and draws you right in. And I love the “advertising” lettering that you’re doing. And of course the simple tight parameters you have set so it’s doable. It’s great. Have a super 2014!

    • invincible pioneer Says:

      Thanks so much Roz for giving me this excuse to knuckle down and try something new! You are an inspiration to be sure!

  2. Dana Says:

    Can’t wait to see where you take us Ellen! Loved last year but I can see how much of a time suck it was. Good to know this year will be more manageable.

    • invincible pioneer Says:

      Oh yes Dana….I managed to do things each day but it did become a burden. Now with panels if I only have time to do one a night….it is okay!

  3. maribethegan Says:

    Groovy! Ruby likes “Red Lincoln” best

  4. Dianne C. Says:

    Apparently, the idea of ‘very simple’ varies widely! look pretty complex to me…but These sketches are terrific! love your format and your style!

  5. Michelle Says:

    Great idea to use a graphic novel format. Looking forward to seeing more.

    • invincible pioneer Says:

      Thank you: I think it has given me some things to think about and has made me wonder if doing a real narrative might be a good project for the summer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 266 other followers

