ROZ STENDAHL’S INTERNATIONAL FAKE JOURNAL MONTH

First you need to go HERE and get the lowdown on the nature of a fake journal.

INTERNATIONAL FAKE JOURNAL MONTH PROJECT MONTAGE. © 2013 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. DO NOT REPRODUCE REBLOG OR PIN. MIXED MEDIA

INTERNATIONAL FAKE JOURNAL MONTH PROJECT MONTAGE. © 2013 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. DO NOT REPRODUCE REBLOG OR PIN. MIXED MEDIA

The fake journal was a creative challenge, in part because I am not a “ journal keeper” by nature. My sketchbooks are mostly filled with images. Limited “BLAH BLAH BLAH”.

In order to make progress, I set up a few rules:

• I decided that a fictitious narrative would occur naturally and spontaneously as the journal developed. I started with the basic premise that the book was written by a 90 year old woman in 2050 who is a mapmaker. I would use the book to map the city, her past, and perhaps her future. Paper in 2050 is a precious commodity, so she draws over the maps after they are transmitted to the government office that employs teams of mapmakers in the city, NETWORK FIVE.

• A chosen color palette for the project would be limited to unify the look of the project, using materials that are quick and on hand in my studio: TOMBOW MARKERS, COLORED PENCILS, GOUACHE, GEL PENS.

• I chose a working notebook of CLASSIC CREST paper, bound by a smooth plastic binding strip. I ran out of pages, because the initial plan was that each page would have several dated entries. Working in spurts of time late at night, I really needed to work bigger and the maps needed to have some sense of sprawl.

The project developed its own life rather quickly. The first few pages seemed a bit like climbing a hill because I felt they needed to convey a large amount of information in order to inform my working path. Mapping the imaginary city allowed it to become real in my own mind. When the month is over and all the participants have completed their entries I will share some additional images and thoughts. For now, here is a montage of some of the mind maps and imaginary journey.

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “ROZ STENDAHL’S INTERNATIONAL FAKE JOURNAL MONTH”

  1. 2Spools Says:

    Looking forward to seeing how it grows. I keep a visual diary, virtual, these days, I just find it so valuable.

  2. Rob Parrish Says:

    These are lovely.

Leave a Reply

