EXERCISES IN CREATIVITY: COMPLETING ROZ STENDAHL’S INTERNATIONAL FAKE JOURNAL MONTH

RAVENEAU BRIDGE. © 2013 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. DO NOT REPRODUCE REBLOG OR PIN.

RAVENEAU BRIDGE. © 2013 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. DO NOT REPRODUCE REBLOG OR PIN.

See my prior posting about “fake journaling” so you can follow the train of thought !

It was a bit like climbing up a hill with bad shoes in the beginning, but eventually a creative flow began after the project got underway. As someone who does not journal in normal life, it was a new experience in all respects. I learned a few things in the process and really would advise anyone up for creative challenge to try a project of this kind.
Roz Stendahl’s site has a wealth of knowledge and encouragement for beginners and experienced journal keepers.

AVIAN MAPPING.  © 2013 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. DO NOT REPRODUCE REBLOG OR PIN.

AVIAN MAPPING. © 2013 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. DO NOT REPRODUCE REBLOG OR PIN.

IN THE WIN/WIN COLUMN:

  • I explored my love of maps and mapmaking by envisioning an imaginary city through the eyes of my main character. I drew some key geographical points over and over from different perspectives, forming a sense of the city in my mind as it all progressed organically. I also found a very interesting book during the project that I am now beginning to read: THE IMAGE OF THE CITY by KEVIN LYNCH. It discusses the basic tools of mental mapmaking.
HUMAN INTERACTION MAPPING © 2013 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. DO NOT REPRODUCE REBLOG OR PIN.

HUMAN INTERACTION MAPPING © 2013 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. DO NOT REPRODUCE REBLOG OR PIN.

  • My routine changed for the month to allow time to do the project. Re-purposing “ dead time” (  I chose to relinquish 45 minutes of before bed television, get up a bit early, carry a sheet of paper with me in case I had a minute to work…) opened up the space to try something new.
  • I got interested in the idea of a serial visual narrative and started a book of ink renderings tentatively titled *“MEN IN SUITS” while I was doing the mapmaker’s entries for this project. SO, I got MORE PRODUCTIVE and ENERGIZED despite undertaking MORE WORK with less time available to me. I conclude that a creative challenge generates its own fuel and woe to those who avoid one! The challenge is the prize.
  • Roz sent me swag: I got an official commemorative button! It takes me back to the special joy of a GIRL SCOUT BADGE!  It is nice to have a touchstone for completion of any project.
  • Seeing how other participants approached the month is very inspiring.
TINY MAP. © 2013 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. DO NOT REPRODUCE REBLOG OR PIN.

TINY MAP. © 2013 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. DO NOT REPRODUCE REBLOG OR PIN.

IN THE “ I WOULD /COULD /SHOULDA COLUMN:

• Next time I will get a commercially bound book with plenty of pages

• Working with a smaller field would have made for entries that could have been briefer and built the narrative more completely. This field was 8.5” x 11” so a spread was 17” wide. Next time I would like to go minimalist and use a small book with compact images and very brief written narrative. Try to keep my sessions down to 15 minutes per entry.

PANORAMA of NETWORK 5.  © 2013 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. DO NOT REPRODUCE REBLOG OR PIN.

PANORAMA of NETWORK 5. © 2013 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. DO NOT REPRODUCE REBLOG OR PIN.

* The book is filled with drawings of MEN IN SUITS. I will accept  the crown for ruling as Master Of The Obvious…

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “EXERCISES IN CREATIVITY: COMPLETING ROZ STENDAHL’S INTERNATIONAL FAKE JOURNAL MONTH”

  1. artrophy Says:

    Your thoughts on the artistic process are an inspiration to me every time I access your page. Lovely to find a kindred spirit.

  2. Roz Stendahl Says:

    Ellen, I love it. I love the maps blending with the drawings, I love that you got more energized for other things. Something I find happens to me as well. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this project and I have added you to the list of “wrap-ups.” Roz

    • invincible pioneer Says:

      Thanks Roz for this great creative project! It really got me jump-started in a new way. Making time to ‘search’ with drawing is sometimes hard to justify to myself when I have so much ‘ work ‘ to do…projects like this make it obvious that keeping the creative fires burning is indeed PART OF THAT WORK and should not be ignored!

Leave a Reply

