PAYING IT FORWARD…with gouache

SHE PAYS IT FORWARD. © 2013 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. DO NOT REPRODUCE REBLOG OR PIN.

SHE PAYS IT FORWARD. © 2013 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. DO NOT REPRODUCE REBLOG OR PIN.

I lost one of my journals. It was filled with paintings and it has been gone for over 2 weeks. Yesterday a young woman called my home. She worked at a restaurant and had found my journal left behind after a lunch.

I drove there in a torrential rainstorm. If you keep a journal you will understand how important these things are to a person. The  accumulated memory and effort is huge. I would not describe myself as very material, but this work maps my life—and it represents significant investment.

The woman had a choice for her reward. She did not feel she was due a reward and saw no reason to get something for doing the right thing. That is precisely why she deserved a reward in the first place.

I offered her a gift card or a painting. At first she wanted to leave it up to me, but her friends at work helped her decide: a painting. I took out my camera and shot a candid photo while she chatted with a coworker.

Here is the painting.

Every day people do honorable and decent things but never got commended. Next time somebody does something upright, do something unexpected for them in gratitude.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “PAYING IT FORWARD…with gouache”

  1. Jane McBee Says:

    Awesome! Lovely painting. And I agree that too often we fail to acknowledge common decency and kindness!

Leave a Reply

