INTERNATIONAL FAKE JOURNAL MONTH with ROZ STENDAHL

HUNTERS IN THE SNOW JOURNAL, 1 copyright 2015 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Do not Pin on Pinterest or reproduce.

HUNTERS IN THE SNOW JOURNAL, 1 copyright 2015 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Do not Pin on Pinterest or reproduce.

If you have been itching for a creative challenge, INTERNATIONAL FAKE JOURNAL MONTH is your opportunity this APRIL. Visit the link to understand the particulars of this activity!

Thinking about April began in February. The specifics of my project involve a few guidelines that will keep me engaged and productive over the course of a month.

1. The materials have no set up or cleanup time required. The palette will be limited.
2. The idea behind the project is simple.
3. Progress can be made even if I only have fifteen minutes to devote to the journal in a given day.

HUNTERS IN THE SNOW JOURNAL, 2 copyright 2015 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Do not Pin on Pinterest or reproduce.

HUNTERS IN THE SNOW JOURNAL, 2 copyright 2015 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Do not Pin on Pinterest or reproduce.

MATERIALS

I have been experimenting with colored pencils and decided it was time to test a new brand. This is a medium I have only used for preliminary drawings, and I generally use ink for sketching. Change keeps you present! Why haven’t I used pencil lately?

I decided to buy a set of LYRA REMBRANDT COLORED PENCILS. This product has a reputation for being highly lightfast in balance, economical, and well designed. I did a clean sweep of old fugitive pencils in my studio and realized my stock was pretty old and battered. Immediately identifying a palette of about 10 pencils will help unify the booklet through the use of color.

I chose a small FABRIANO ECO QUA pocket journal that has just enough pages to document the month. They come in sets of 4 tiny notebooks. This size will help me find a way to use my limited time effectively. The paper is thin and smooth, so heavily worked drawing would not really suit these books. My goal is not to create masterpieces. My goal is to have an experience.

HUNTERS IN THE SNOW JOURNAL 3, copyright 2015 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Do not Pin on Pinterest or reproduce.

HUNTERS IN THE SNOW JOURNAL 3, copyright 2015 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Do not Pin on Pinterest or reproduce.

THE IDEA IS SIMPLE

The challenge requires that you develop an alter ego as the journal keeper. My character is like ZELIG, traveling into and around a famous painting for the occasional cameo moment in present time.

The painting HUNTERS IN THE SNOW by BREUGHEL was important to me in my childhood, so my plan is to take a few minutes each day and virtually walk around in that environment now, using an image found online. I figured out some of the basics of understanding landscape by looking at this image as a kid. Studying the picture first in a textbook and later in a postcard bought on a class field trip to the MET, I began to question how one creates an illusion of depth. Mental walks through snow, woods and fields years ago were important to me in the bigger scheme of things. It was part of my youthful research method as a designer.

I want to use this activity as a meditation and as a way to travel without too much luggage. Hopefully, public posting encourages people to visit the painting and figure out where my character might be wandering. It is a different way of looking at art, and maybe others will want to play the game too.

HUNTERS IN THE SNOW JOURNAL, 4 copyright 2015 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Do not Pin on Pinterest or reproduce.

HUNTERS IN THE SNOW JOURNAL, 4 copyright 2015 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Do not Pin on Pinterest or reproduce.

PROGRESS
I am going to measure my progress simply through participation. I am not so sure there is really any other yardstick that bears up under scrutiny anyway. These projects tend to develop their own life after the first ten days.

HUNTERS IN THE SNOW JOURNAL, 5 copyright 2015 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Do not Pin on Pinterest or reproduce.

HUNTERS IN THE SNOW JOURNAL, 5 copyright 2015 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Do not Pin on Pinterest or reproduce.

HUNTERS IN THE SNOW JOURNAL6,copyright 2015 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Do not Pin on Pinterest or reproduce.

HUNTERS IN THE SNOW JOURNAL6,copyright 2015 ELLEN WARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Do not Pin on Pinterest or reproduce.

You can see past IFJM experiments here and here.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “INTERNATIONAL FAKE JOURNAL MONTH with ROZ STENDAHL”

  1. helena Says:

    Hi Ellen, terrific sketches – how you build color by hatching! And i love Lyra, use them along with FC Polychromous (oil-based like Lyra). May i ask you about your 10 pencil palette? I remember reading Glenn Vilppu recommending the set of 7 FC to take to Italy – Black, White, Warm Grey, Dark Red, Indianthrene Blue, Burnt Sienna, and Burnt Ochre… Thanks much, always enjoy your blog and your art.

    • invincible pioneer Says:

      Hi ! Glad you like the sketches. The painting itself has a very specific palette, so it is easy to narrow it down for simplified drawings.I used pencils in the following hues to complete most of the drawings. I got the 72 pencil set and never make note of ” official ” color names!
      sepia
      2 grays
      turquoise
      light blue
      warm pink
      indian red
      umber
      indigo blue
      muted green

  2. maribethegan Says:

    I would like to visit Malta. Ever since reading V.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

